The Chakra

Soma chakra/Amria Chakra

Meaning of the name of the chakra: nectar of the crescent moon.

Location:  The soma, a little known but none the less important chakra, is situated between the sixth and the seventh chakra, although some say it is just adjacent to the third eye.

Ruling Planet: Rahu.

Muladhara chakra (first chakra)

Meaning of the name of the chakra: root, base

Location:  base of the spine, in the area between the anus and the sexual organs, the perineum, the first three vertebrae.

Bija (seed): golden LAM

Characteristics: food and shelter

Tattva (element): earth.

Tattva colour: yellow

Tattva shape: square

Principle sense: smell

Sensing organ: the nose.

Workingorgan: The anus

Vayu (physical action/breath):Loka (space): bhuloka -the earth

Ruling planet: Mars (Solar, masculine).

Svadishthana chakra (second chakra)

Meaning of the name of the chakra:  that which is itself, belongs to oneself, sacral

Location; lower belly, inner pelvic area, genital organs

Bija (seed); moon white VAM

Characteristics: Procreation, family, imagination. The earth element of Muladhara - the chakra dissolves in the water of Svadishthana - the chakra element. Imagination comes when the person begins to forge relationships with family and friends. The inspiration for creativity begins in the second chakra.

Tattva (element): water

Tattva colour: pale blue

Tattva shape: circle

Principle sense: taste

Sensing organ: the tongue

Working organ: the genital organs

Vayu (physical action/breath): apana vayu, the wind which expels the seeds of the male organ et the urine in both sexes and which pushes the unborn child to birth from the belly at its birth

Loka (space): Bhuvar Loka, Naga Loka, the astral plain.

Ruling planet: Mercury (lunar, feminine)

Manipûra chakra (third chakra)

Meaning of the name of the chakra: City of jewels

Location; Solar plexus, epigastric plexus, navel.

Bija (seed); red or white RAM

Characteristics: vision, shape, ego, colour

Tattva (element): fire

Tattva colour: red

Tattva shape:  triangle

Principle sense: sight

Sensing organ:  the eyes

Working organ: the feet and legs

Vayu (physical action/breath): samana vayu the air which lives in the upper part of the abdomen in the navel area, and supports the digestive system. It helps the assimilation of blood and chemicals produced in the solar plexus. With the help of Saman Vayu, the rasa, or essence, food is produced, processed and transported throughout the body

Loka (space): sva loka or swarga loka (the celestial plain)

Ruling planet: The Sun (solar, masculine)

Anahata chakra (fourth chakra)

Meaning of the name of the chakra: unhurt, unstruck, unbeaten

Location; heart, between the breasts

Bija (seed); dark grey YAM

Characteristics: effectuates balance between the three chakras above it and the three chakras below

Tattva (element):  air (without smell, shape or taste)

Tattva colour: colourless, some texts indicate a grey smoke and others a grey smoke

Tattva shape:  hexagram

Principle sense:  touch

Sensing organ: the skin

Working organ: the hands

Vayu (physical action/breath):  the prana vayu, located in the chest area, is the air that we breathe, the central life force, rich in negative ions.

Loka (space): maha loka (the plain of balance and harmony).

Ruling planet: Venus (lunar, feminine)

Vishuddha chakra (fifth chakra)

Meaning of the name of the chakra:  purity

Location; the throat area, carotid plexus

Bija (seed); white, gold, HAM

Characteristics: knowledge, expression of thoughts and feelings

Tattva (element): Akasha, sound

Tattva colour: purple smoke

Tattva shape:  half moon

Principle sense: hearing

Sensing organ: the ears

Working organ: the throat and mouth (vocal chords)

Vayu (physical action/breath): Udana vayu, situated in the throat area. the upward moving breath to the head, contributing also to the production of sounds.

Loka (space):Ruling planet: Jana Loka- the human plain

Ruling Planet: Jupiter

Ajna-chakra (sixth chakra)

Meaning of the name of the chakra: authority, commandment and unlimited ability

Location; on the forehead, pituitary gland, pineal gland, third eye

Bija (seed) ; OM

Characteristics: superior mental consciousness, connection with the spiritual plane, clairvoyance, ESP.

Tattva (element): Mahat Tattva, accumulates all the other elements in their pure essence (tanmatra), total material energy.  It is the shadow of pure consciousness where ideas become material matter.

Tattva colour: luminous, transparent, camphor white or blue tinged

Tattva shape:

Principle sense: extrasensory

Sensing organ: third eye, brain

Working organ: the pineal and pituitary glands

Vayu (physical action/breath): none

Loka (space): Tapa Loka, the plain of austerity or of penance (tapasia)

Ruling planet: Neptune (solar, masculine)

Sahasrara chakra (Seventh chakra)

Meaning of the name of the chakra: 1000 petals and also known as Shunya, the void, nothingness, as well as Niralamba puri (the place of no support)

Location; the crown of the head. The Soma-chakra and Kâmeshvara-chakra are also in this area.

Bija (seed); OM

Characteristics: the sublime, grace, beauty, peace, oneness with all that is

Tattva (element): Adi Tattva or Ishvara Tattva, the pure light, the light of creation

Tattva colour: pure white/violet

Tattva shape:  shapeless

Principle sense: stillness, higher self

Sensing organ:

Working organ:  pineal gland

Vayu (physical action/breath): none

Loka (space): Satyam loka, the plain of truth and existence

Ruling planet: Uranus